Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

I Got Fired May 6, 2008

Filed under: thebridge — martyschmidt @ 8:17 pm

Two Sundays ago I came home and after lunch was feeling pretty tired. I decided to take a nap. Upon waking up I entered an entire new world which I have called flunomia. I ended up sleeping 32 of the next 40 hours. At first I thought I was just exhausted and my body needed a break but by Tuesday evening the chills, aches, and 103.4 temperature that wouldn’t go away left me with a trip to urgent care. I was diagnosed with the flu and a chest x-ray would reveal the start of pneumonia on my right lung. The following day was no better and I couldn’t seem to catch my breath. By early evening I was back in urgent care getting a breathing treatment and some advice on how to reduce the fever that was still pushing 103 after four days.
After leaving urgent care my elders met up with me for prayer and told me I needed to take Sunday off. I asked if they were firing me and they said yep – for one week. So back to bed I went without a job. I slept all of Thursday while my fam went to Tulip Time. Friday I sat on the couch most of the day and watched the movie August Rush. I rather enjoyed the family friendly movie. (my bro-in-law said Robin Williams character reminds him of Hook) Saturday I played with Lydia while Jenny and Toby took naps and the fever finally broke in the afternoon.

Sunday I woke up before noon for the first time all week and I was pumped for church only to face the reality that I had been fired!

 

 

One Response to “I Got Fired”

  1. Lon Says:

    that is really cool Marty, nothing says love like mandatory time off!


Leave a Reply

