Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Seasonal Scripture Reading June 4, 2008

Filed under: Leadership — martyschmidt @ 10:00 am

I’m a seasonal Bible reader. Not in the sense of an on season and off season like we see in sports but in what and how I choose to read. There are times when I’ll read a chapter a day and use S.O.A.P. (Scripture – what I read, Observation – what I see, Application – what I’ll do, Prayer – talking with God) or there will be times when I’ll read a commentary which is very helpful in seeing things I don’t naturally see in Scripture. Lately though I’ve been asking God to share with me what he wants me to read and then I go to whatever I hear. This has been absolutely amazing for me. I have found myself in books of the Bible that I don’t naturally flip open. I’m also taking some time before I read to journal. I’ve seen people journal in a number of ways. They journal what has happened, they journal their prayers like a conversation with God, they journal their thoughts, or some even journal to themselves. I tend to mix thoughts with conversation with God. This has really helped me to center in on God and what I read. It has a way of letting me get all of the other distractions out of the way.

How do you read Scripture? Do you have different seasons? How do you journal?

 

Leave a Reply

