Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Turned Off June 11, 2008

Filed under: Leadership — martyschmidt @ 12:51 pm

A habit (once every two months) that has been forming over the last year is turning off my cell phone, tv, and computer on Monday night and not turning them back on until Wednesday morning. Tuesday’s are my Sabbath and I’m doing my best to hold to them religiously – pun intended. The first few times I chose to do this I about went nuts. Towards the end of the day I was attempting to justify why it was a good reason for me to turn them on when the reality of it all was I had an addiction and was hoping for a quick fix. Yesterday’s only exception was I watched the local news so as to know when the city will start flooding.

I’m noticing that it is hard for leaders to accept the fact that they aren’t as necessary as they would like to think they are. Most notable in this leadership category would be myself. Turning it all off is a healthy reminder for me that it isn’t about me.

Have you ever chosen to turn it off? What did you learn from it? Would you ever consider a day where you didn’t use anything that has a turn on function – Car, microwave, tv, light switch, etc.?

 

One Response to “Turned Off”

  1. Lon Says:

    I lost my cell phone a couple days ago, does that count?

    I’m trying to use my laptop a bit less, and what’s great has been just free-forming thoughts on my moleskine notebook…

    btw, like the new bridge site.. i’ve always loved your color scheme… and i just tagged you on my blog


Leave a Reply

