Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

A very late Sunday Recap June 20, 2008

Filed under: thebridge — martyschmidt @ 10:34 am

I know we are already close to a week removed from last Sunday but I’m still getting feedback from it. I don’t know if this has happened to anyone else who teaches on a regular basis but I just couldn’t get anything to make sense in my head as I was preparing. I believe I did more studying and prep then usual yet there I was Saturday evening with nothing. I finally tossed a prayer up and went and watched Sportscenter. The next morning I felt prompted to get up before my alarm went off and by the time I had showered God gave me the entire message.

We started our normal set up at the BridgeView Center only to have the band show up saying they were going all acoustic and didn’t need the speakers. Their exact wording was, “we could play anywhere.” I don’t know what happened next but it was within five minutes of that comment that we had recieved permission to meet in the main lobby area by the windows over looking the Des Moines river that was creeping higher each hour.

The natural light, the rushing river, and the change of location were all perks to the morning. We set up tables and chairs and people drank their coffee and shared in conversations. The entire morning was about Christ offering us refreshing as we unpacked chapters 3 and 4 of Acts. At the end we had communion. AWESOME!

A couple pics below.

 

I am continually amazed at how God works. Had I been “better prepared” or “more scripted” none of this would have happened. How willing are you to scrap your plans for the chance that something better could be out there? When was the last time you took a risk?

 

One Response to “A very late Sunday Recap”

  1. Great to hear how God came through for you, Marty. Reminds me of a talk Sarah Lubach (at the time Walsten) gave at 242 once that “Obedience trumps Method”. The “method” may seem unusual or unplanned (like your situation), but God rewards the obedience.


Leave a Reply

