Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Crazy Awesome Sunday July 28, 2008

Filed under: thebridge — martyschmidt @ 9:46 am

Yesterday morning was amazing! I felt like I was wrestling with God all morning. In the early morning hours it was over the reality that I didn’t really have anything to say even though I had put hours into preparing, during the first set of worship it was over not wanting to be fake, in the middle of the message it was over ditching my notes, and during the blessing it was over obedience. I don’t think any of this wrestling was me fighting God but rather trying to grab a hold of him because I don’t know what I am doing.

The morning took a different tone once I shared a report (you can see it below) from our missionary in Cambodia. We took time to pray for her in the middle of the message and then it was like the gloves were off. I just poured out thoughts that I believe came from God all the while revealing my own heart. We ended with a song and then I brought the cross out and gave the blessing. It was crazy loud and everyone started spontaneously cheering. All yesterday and this morning I have been getting comments on the conviction and motivation they received from the morning. It was crazy awesome. To God be the glory!

 

 

Last week I received an e-mail from Molly a missionary we support in Cambodia reporting some very sad news. Below is her e-mail. I’m not sure if that is Vatana in the picture below but it is Molly.

We have had a tragedy hit us here in Battambang. One of my students and friends, Vatana, 21 year old Cambodian guy went swimming on Sunday in a river with his church friends. Although he was a good swimmer the water was very dangerous that day and around 3:00 I received the news that he went under and they couldn’t find him. His friends went out to get him, but the current was sucking him under and he told his friends to get back because he knew want them to risk their lives. The two friends tried to save him, but had to retreat to the shore. They searched for his body and 24 hours later they found him.

Vatana was on my outreach team. For the last 6 months he’s been someone that I’ve been focusing on and pouring into. Our very friend, our younger brother has gone to be with his Dad in Heaven just two days after the completion of his 6 month training. Most of the students and all the staff have come back to the base to be together and seek the Lord. Please pray for us as we continue to grieve and celebrate a life so alive in Christ.

Vatana was an evangelist, he made me tired, he wouldn’t stop, we went to everyone’s house when we would go out to share the Gospel. He was an amazing worship leader, the only time he didn’t have a guitar was when he was sleeping. He had dreams of planting churches in Cambodia, deep into the villages where the Gospel had not been heard. He was responsible, a hard worker and bold. He was also kind and encouraging. He could make anyone feel special by just smiling. He was planning to come back and be on staff with us in September. We don’t understand why this happened, but we continue to focus on the Lord, because his thoughts are higher than my thoughts and his ways are better than mine. Please pray for me, Vatana and I were very tight and he shared lots of his heart with me in the last 6 months. I miss him a lot. Please pray for peace.

 

One Response to “Crazy Awesome Sunday”

  1. Sara Says:

    I’m so sorry that they lost a “brother”… the truly amazing thing (and the part that’s rather hard to focus on, no matter how much time has passed) is that soon enough, they’ll get to see him again and catch up on everything that’s happened since he left… and the stories he’ll be able to tell them will be pretty spectacular.


Leave a Reply

