Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Wide Awake Review August 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — martyschmidt @ 2:23 pm

Erwin McManus is unbelievable. I continually find myself motivated, energized, and full of big dreams after reading his books. Wide Awake is no exception. This book not only personally inspiring to me but it also captured a lot of the thoughts I had been kicking around for our October series at thebridge. It didn’t take long for me to realize that this is the perfect title for that series. Although I’ll be going a little different direction than the book I will joyfully use some of the language found in the chapter titles.

 

A sampling of the things that got me pumped:

 

 

 

  • You are more adaptable when you have clarity about who you are and why you are here.
  • Why does the word confidence in the context of spirituality seem wrong?
  • What are you willing to give up for the opportunity to be a part of something bigger?
  • Success isn’t gained by talent alone.
  • Quote from The Patriot, “I have done nothing. And for that I am ashamed.”
  • Quote, “When your dreams include the good of others, don’t be surprised when God brings your dreams to pass.”
  • ENJOY LIFE
 

4 Responses to “Wide Awake Review”

  1. Thanks for the review Marty. I’ve been considering purchasing this book. I’ve heard awesome things about “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan also!

  2. […] Those of you who know me personally know how much I enjoy the writing of Erwin McManus.  Marty Schmidt has already read the new book by Erwin titled “Wide Awake”.  You can read his review of it here. […]

  3. Bryan Sissel Says:

    I want to borrow that book sometime

  4. […] is a Team Sport by Putman (my thoughts) Wide Awake by McManus (my thoughts) Wild Goose Chase by Batterson (my thoughts) axiom by Hybels Seize the Fire by […]


Leave a Reply

