Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Weekend Review and Week Preview August 11, 2008

Filed under: Random — martyschmidt @ 1:30 pm
  • We celebrated one year as thebridge! The celebration ended with a POTLUCK! Crazy good fun.
  • We did an open mic format and it was awesome hearing what God has been doing in people’s lives and how thebridge is playing a role in people’s walk with God.
  • We had a crazy amount of people – including a large number of first time visitors.
  • Saturday we had a crew continue sheet rocking and we also helped Cy move some stuff to Ottumwa.
  • I led my first worship practice ever on Saturday night.
  • We had our first ever worship practice in Ottumwa and we had more people from Ottumwa a part of the band then not from Ottumwa.
  • During open mic I observed a number of people who have amazing stories but they didn’t share them.
  • After the service we went and talked with these people and got them to share their stories on video.
  • Caisson Prayer last night was very encouraging. We felt the Lord calling us to a season of depth and connecting.
  • This week is going to be crazy full of tasks.
  • I’m going back to Pella to teach this week – I’m doing all four services.
  • We are really short on hands in Ottumwa on Sunday due to vacations and doing the services in Pella.
  • I’m working on a Video for Sunday that is going to be awesome!
  • Growth Groups are coming together.
  • Received a phone call asking if we could build another wheel chair ramp to a house. Turns out the house is five down from mine.
  • Reading Hybels book Axiom – Could be the best book I’ve read all year – no joke.
  • I was selected (wasn’t hard) to get an advanced copy of Mark Batterson’s new book Wild Goose Chase and post a review on my blog. I just got it in the mail and am pumped to be a part of this.
  • One year Elder Review on Thursday. I love my Elders! Seriously, I wonder how many pastors can actually say that but for me it is totally true.
  • Be looking for an awesome video of Toby and Lydia dancing to hit the blog soon.

I’m out!

 

Leave a Reply

