Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

What a Day! August 17, 2008

Filed under: thebridge — martyschmidt @ 8:52 pm

                    

 

This has been a day I have been looking forward to for months. I was invited back to give a report on what has happened in the first year of thebridge and our parent church, Third Church. There were so many stories that I wanted to share about what God has been doing and how He has gone before us but at the same time I didn’t want to just be about what has been happening in Ottumwa. I chose Exodus 11:31-33 as the key verse and invited people to wrestle through the question, How have I settled? I very briefly followed that up with Mark Batterson’s six cages as possibilities on why we have settled. From there I unpacked some of the key stories and happenings of our first year.

One of the concerns about the morning was my energy level. Third Church has four morning services and I was the test driver to see if it was possible for one teacher to do all four. I ended up walking directly from one stage to the bathroom and then onto the next stage and started teaching. It went awesome though and I felt like I was able to convey the joy of the Lord in each services.

The bummer of the day for me was not being at thebridge this morning. I hate missing Sunday mornings there. It has become the highlight of my weeks and knowing that they were having a blast without me was crushing. I am so pumped to get back home and get after it again.

 

2 Responses to “What a Day!”

  1. Mike Says:

    My wife and I were at the fourth service you did this morning and really enjoyed your message, energy, and sense of humor. If you had any doubts that you pulled off the challenge of 4 services, we feel that you definitely were successful.

  2. Jenn Rogers Says:

    Is that Toby and Lydia in the Olympics?!!!


Leave a Reply

