Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

New Roles In Ottumwa August 19, 2008

Filed under: Leadership,Ottumwa — martyschmidt @ 8:58 am

One of the things that I believe is important in my role with thebridge is to be active in the community. One of the ways this has happened was by becoming a board member at the Outreach Center. In the past few months it has become clear that my role on the board needs to transition. We have recently hired a part time staff person who will help streamline many of the duties that have fallen on Kate and I. In addition we are hoping to add another board member. These two moves will allow me to transition into more of a visionary role.

Yesterday I was asked to represent the Ottumwa Clergy on the Emergency Food and Shelter Program for Ottumwa. I believe God has some huge things in store for this group and that I am being led to be in a key position for a specific time.

I also have recently been asked to become a member of the Community Advisory for School Improvement and Eductional Equity. I’m so excited about this opportunity!

I’ve only been here a year and I am continually humbled at all of the opportunities the Lord brings to my door. In no way am I trying to trumpet my own horn by mentioning all of the above. Rather I’m asking for your prayers and advice. I would especially like to hear from those of you who have served in similar roles.

 

Leave a Reply

