Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Links to Click November 8, 2008

Filed under: Resources — martyschmidt @ 10:59 am

A few weeks ago we got together with some awesome friends of ours and the little ones delighted us with some amazing renditions of Jesus loves me and viva la vida – click here for the picture.

I found some new backgrounds for us to use at thebridge here.

Bluefish kicks out some pretty good stuff on a regular basis. I’m using the download found here tomorrow.

I forgot who tipped me off to Compassion by Designbut I believe thebridge falls in line with what they are doing.

I’m getting pumped for Monday when I’ll head out to Ohio for the sticks conference with some friends. Check it out here.

Jenny and I are aggressively working on our finances and budget. I can’t believe how many things have been floated by us the last few months as we set out on a journey to be better stewards. Our end goal is to have all of our debt, including our house paid off before Toby turns 16. Here are a few things that we have looked into or have had pitched to us by friends.

I was broke. Now I’m not.

Crown Financial Ministires

United First Financial

Dave Ramsey

And finally just yesterday I got asked to review Living Rich for Less that is due out in December.

Added to all of that is assigned reading by Searcy and posts about stewardship on his blog found here.

I don’t care what you do or how you do it this it is something every believer needs to continue to get better at. Jenny and I recently paid off our first of 6 college loans and I’m pumped!

What do you use? Why? If you attend thebridge would you be interested in learning more about finances?

 

6 Responses to “Links to Click”

  1. Bryan Sissel Says:

    Yeah i could use knowledge in about very area of finance. budgeting to paying off debt

  2. Kim Brenizer Says:

    We, too, have been convicted since summertime to get a grip on our finances – live within our means – be better stewards of God’s gifts. I’ve just started reading the Dave Ramsey book. We started with no more credit card charges – only debit card – and when it’s gone, it’s gone. It’s going pretty well. Seriously, though, gas prices really got to us! An extra $300 – $400 month based on $4 gas!

  3. Sara Says:

    From personal experience and my lack of expertise, I strongly believe in financial education. A year and a half ago I cleared a large credit card debt and am on my way to becoming debt free in a matter of a few short years. And now as my relationship with my Father grows I am beginning to understand how money isn’t only a need (and a want) but has great potential to be used as a tool.

    So I say bring on the books, the budgets and the calculators!!

  4. GFish Says:

    We paid off the last of my student loans over a year ago after listening to Dave Ramsey podcasts (free on ITunes) and reading the Total Money Makeover. I love his ideas because they’re simple and pretty straight forward. The 5 baby steps.

    If you want an even more challenging read I would suggest Money, Possessions, and Eternity by Randy Alcorn. One of the main questions he asks is “does God bless us with financial resources to raise our standard of living or to raise our standard of giving?” The book isn’t a guilt trip about not giving enough, but it does make you think a little bit more about what you do with the money God has given you.

  5. Joe Sangl Says:

    Marty, send an e-mail to the address I provided, and I will send you a free home group study kit for you to check out.

    You can AB-SO-LUTE-LY win with your money. A debt free life is awesome and worth every step of the journey it takes to get there.

    Thanks for the link!
    Joe

  6. SMURF Says:

    Best way is to marry rich…….


Leave a Reply

