Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Reconnecting with an old friend December 4, 2008

Filed under: Random — martyschmidt @ 10:54 am

This past Sunday I was invited to go play some basketball. I haven’t played for quite some time so I was pretty excited to play but also very out of shape. Upon arriving home I already could tell my body was a little upset with me. I also happened to jam my thumb pretty good causing it to swell up to twice the size. I decided it was time to reconnect with an old friend.

tylenol

I don’t remember ever thinking about all the things my left thumb does. I even remember saying that it wasn’t a big deal because I don’t use that finger to type with after it happened. I neglected to realize that tying my shoes, opening a jar, or pretty much grabbing anything was impacted by my left thumb.

Not sure if your able to make the jump with me but I was reading Psalm 78 this morning and it is a Psalm that retells the story of Israel from Egypt to David. One of the things I noticed was that whenever there was pain in their life they would remember God and turn to him. In no way am I comparing Tylenol to God but to me it is a simple reminder that I am prone to forget Him in good times and quick to remember Him in pain.

How about you?

 

Leave a Reply

