Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

January Book Thoughts February 3, 2009

Filed under: Resources — martyschmidt @ 10:46 pm

The Serving leader by Jennings and Stahl-Wert

This book is part of the Ken Blanchard Series and focuses on the five powerful actions that will transform your team, your business and your community. What was very unique about the book is that it taught its principles through the telling of a fictitious story. This made the book a very enjoyable read and useful at the same time.  Of the five powerful actions identified (Upend the Pyramid, Raise the Bar, Blaze the Trail, Build on Strength, and Run to Great Purpose) I found Raise the Bar the most difficult to implement in our context. If you are a leader I recommend you grab this book and read it.

Sheet Music by Dr. Kevin Leman

What I loved most about this book was reading it with my wife! With the tag line, “Uncovering the Secrets of Sexual Intimacy in Marriage” Leman leaves no topic unmentioned. He is quite open in prefacing certain topics with “this may not be for everyone” or “you might be uncomfortable with the following” which ups his credibility in my book because he was right. I’ll be honest, I’ve never read anything on sex tips, positions, and intimacy. I believe our marriage and sex life is healthier after reading this book. I know you want to read it now so here’s the link.

Praying in Color by Sybil MacBeth

My wife and a friend recently went to a praying in color class and she came home with these simple yet profound pictures that she had done while praying. That night we ordered the book and I sat down today and read it in less then an hour. My fear with this sort of approach is that I am one who enjoys art, appreciates art, but overall is horrible at creating art. The first five chapters (an entire 16 pages) quickly put me at ease. I highly recommend this book and approach to prayer. I am convinced that this approach will deepen our prayer life.

The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn

Just today I had 96 of these books delivered to my home. Hopefully that gives you some idea of what I think about this book. For several years I have recommended this book when the topic turns to money. Alcorn unpacks six different keys to the treasures in heaven but really I think he could have just stated the first one which is, “God owns everything, I’m just a money manager.” If you attend thebridge and would like a copy of this book please let me know. I’ll see if I can find one for you.

 

Leave a Reply

