Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Favor and Favorite February 9, 2009

Filed under: Random — martyschmidt @ 12:25 am

While watching some basketball tonight a friend asked how one determines which team is their favorite. The wondered if it is always due to location. I believe they would be one who would admit to not being a typical sports fan and thus also offered up that they always choose which team they like by who they know in which city. We want on talking about how my brother is a Michigan fan because of my dad and I’m usually a Minnesota fan because of my mom. (Yes, I am a self proclaimed mama’s boy) My exception being the Cincinnati Bengals. My friend asked why I started to like them. My answer – When I was a kid I liked that they had tiger helmets. So here are my questions:

Why did I start to like tigers? Why are they my favorite?

If I like tigers how come I don’t like the Detroit Tigers? (maybe because the Twins kick them around all the time and that is a lot of fun to watch!)

Why do we choose to favor some people over others?

Why was the same kid every teachers pet while the rest of us were treated like dogs in the pound?

I know people have a saying that God doesn’t play favorites but where do we get that?

Does God have favorites?

 

2 Responses to “Favor and Favorite”

  1. Jenn Rogers Says:

    One more question…Does Toby have a tiger backpack and a stuffed animal tiger because he likes tigers or because you like tigers, so he likes tigers?

  2. Darin Says:

    Why did I start to like tigers? Why are they my favorite?
    Tiger stripes are cool and so is Ocho Cinco. My son likes tigers too.

    If I like tigers how come I don’t like the Detroit Tigers? (maybe because the Twins kick them around all the time and that is a lot of fun to watch!)
    The Detroit Tigers don’t have the cool stripes or Ocho Cinco.

    Why do we choose to favor some people over others?
    Some people are cool and likeable and connect with us, others don’t.

    Why was the same kid every teachers pet while the rest of us were treated like dogs in the pound?
    The teacher pet probably got his/her work done, paid attention in class and gave the teacher the respect he/she deserved. (not to say that others didn’t)

    I know people have a saying that God doesn’t play favorites but where do we get that?
    For God so loved the world…we think that God loves everyone the same. The reformed elect might disagree…

    Does God have favorites?
    I think that God loves the whole world, but he does enjoy the fact that some follow his commands more closely than others.


Leave a Reply

