Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Morning Muse February 11, 2009

Filed under: Random — martyschmidt @ 10:43 am

Early start to the day. Thought I would round up the trash and pull it out to the curb because last week instead of coming at 4:00pm they came at 7:30am and we almost didn’t get it out in time. So I’m putting the diapers in the trash can and start yanking it to the road when who do I see at the end of the block but the trash man. Which end do you think he was on? That’s right – missed it by that much! Isn’t it funny how something so little (yet smelly) can stir you up? So I miss the trash. He’ll be back next week.

Went to my early morning men’s Growth Group. It’s going to be good. The study will be a lot of work. My hope is that no gets defeated in the process and that our times will be very encouraging. I’m excited to see how God uses this group in my life.

Listening to The Fray this morning. Very nice.

I have a project in the works that I’m very excited about. Nelson Searcy got my mind started on something and I hope to have this little project done by the end of March.

I’ve got some speaking times schedule up ahead that I’m working on. I’m speaking at Central College on Sunday night. God is given me some strong words. Looking forward to that. On Monday night I’m going back to Central College as a guest for a pre-ministerial class. The following Sunday I’m off to Sully to speak to high school students. I have this crazy idea of bringing six different talks that don’t relate what so ever and then either having the students vote on what they want or better pray and cast lots.

Big Board meeting at OCOM today. The homeless shelter is cruising along and we are way behind in the highering process for the director.

Tonight I will launch the Growth Group I am leading. It sort of got out of control and I’m expecting 20 people. (side note – if you signed up for the Broke No More study it has been postponed by one week and will start next Wednesday)

Jenny and I figured out a way to cut another $120 from our budget a year. Those kinds of wins are fuel for this whole process.

Did I mention that I missed the trash this morning!

 

2 Responses to “Morning Muse”

  1. Darin Says:

    If you don’t mind sharing, how did you cut the $120?

  2. martyschmidt Says:

    Sort of silly but we have been getting Gevalia coffee for over two years and just now realized that we just wrote that $30 check four times a year. Meanwhile my family and friends buy us lots of coffee. It became a no brainer to call Gevalia and let them know it was no longer wise for us to stick around with them.


Leave a Reply

