Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Lent Thoughts February 24, 2009

Filed under: Leadership — martyschmidt @ 10:46 pm

Growing up our family went to church every Wednseday night during Lent and I hated it. I felt like it was a waste of time. It would be dark outside and it just didn’t make sense to me. When I went to college I sort of took my stand by giving up church for Lent. Not Wednesday night church but Sundays also!

Years have now passed and I’m intrigued by this season of preparation. I want to make the most of it. Where could you be in 40 days? What life change could take place? What goal could be achieved? What addiction could be squelched?

I’m having difficulty landing what I will be doing because I’m having to factor in baby #3 who will be here soon.  I also need to make sure that whatever I choose honors Jenny well. It might be great for me to say I’m going to be in bed by 10:00 each night but that could have horrible consequences on her. The big ideas are currently giving up Coffee, Television, or Pop but none of them are resonating with me. I also want to add something as suggested by Mark Batterson here. Thus my decision for the next 40 days is:

I will not get on the internet until after 10:00am each day. The amount of time squandered by chasing e-mails, reading the news, or checking blogs always seems highest in the morning which is also the best time for me to get extra reading and writing in. My addition will be extended time in the Word.

How about you? What are you subtracting? What are you adding?

 

Leave a Reply

