Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

New Series “Fences” Starts Easter Sunday March 24, 2009

Filed under: thebridge,Uncategorized — martyschmidt @ 1:01 pm

I’m pumped about Easter and the new series we will be launching April 12. It is a little shorter then what I like but I believe this three week series will pack a powerful punch and lives will be changed for eternity. The titles for each message are.

  • The Invisible Fence
  • The Grass Is Always Greener On The Other Side Of The Fence
  • Sitting On The Fence

If those titles alone spark a thought feel free to share it with me as something for me to process as I continue to work and pray over each of these talks.

 

2 Responses to “New Series “Fences” Starts Easter Sunday”

  1. Bryan Sissel Says:

    Invisible fence i’m stumped as to where you’re going with that one. I see a set piece, do we need to build you a fence ?

  2. Abby Says:

    Funny. I just read the Robert Frost poem “Mending Wall” with one of my classes. Don’t know if you’re familiar with it, but it’s about the fact that there is something that doesn’t love a wall–the winter comes and the rocks fall to one side or the other and every spring, the speaker and his neighbor have to go out and mend the wall between their properties. The speaker wonders aloud why they need the wall–he has apples and the neighbor has pine trees; it’s not as if his apples are going to eat the neighbor’s pine cones. But the neighbor only says, “Good fences make good neighbors.” And the speaker wonders again about the nature of walls/fences and decides that they’re only good if you know what you’re walling in or out and why, but the neighbor won’t let go of his father’s logic; “Good fences make good neighbors.”

    I like the poem because it reminds me to question the fences/walls in my own life. Why are they there? What purpose do they serve? Are they necessary boundaries? Or are they destructive attempts to keep something in/out? Were they there when I got there? Do I need to be the one who lets go of the past and tears down the wall that’s there because “that’s the way we do things”?

    Lots of interesting food for thought, old Robert Frost.


Leave a Reply

