Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

March Sports Thoughts March 26, 2009

Filed under: Random — martyschmidt @ 12:00 pm

Rather then make a lot of posts about sports I have decided I will make one post a month about the sports that interest me.

NCAA Tournament

My bracket is still full of potential. Having Western Kentucky lose to Gonzaga really hurt because I also had them beating UNC but all four of my final four teams are still playing with Memphis over Syracuse in the finals.

Utah Jazz

I’ve watched Utah Jazz both last night and the night before. I enjoy watching one of Jenny’s friends play. I think they would have won last night had Okur made a pass in the final seconds.

MLS

I have really wanted to become a fan of MLS because I love soccer but it just falls short in comparison to European soccer. However, watching last weeks opening game between Seattle and New York was awesome. The atmosphere in Seattle was crazy good. I love how the next two franchises will be in Vancouver and Portland. I think this will be a great thing for the MLS because they will be creating some close city rivalries. This is why European Soccer Leagues do so well. you can go see your team play home and away. Seattle vs Chicago is my call for this years MLS Cup.

Longer NFL Season

All I want to know is how will this effect Fantasy Football. It can only hope is my initial thought.

Fantasy Baseball Team

Now before I share my team you have to know that I really only follow the Twins. This is just something on the side for me to enjoy. I don’t have the time to stay on top of it so I co-own a team with my brother-in-law. I think our team is pretty good.

Catcher – Molina
1B – Votto and Mike Jacobs (who is the biggest sleeper)
2B – Chone Figgins
3B – Cantu, Beltre, and Mark Reynolds
SS – Troy Tulowitzki
OF – Sizemore, Man Ram, C. Lee, and Matt Kemp (if you don’t know anything about baseball this is the best outfield ever!)Pitchers include – R. Hardin, C. Hamels, R. Oswal, S. Baker, H. Kuroda, B. Lyon, M. Lindstrom, and M. Scherzer

Bengals Draft Thoughts

The Bengals look to be taking a WR but I would rather they take an offensive lineman.

Golf

The Masters always makes me want to play golf. Bring on spring!

Hawkeyes

Last night I had one of those moments where you throw up a little – when Jon mentioned to me that he was looking at the Hawkeye Football spring schedule.

 

7 Responses to “March Sports Thoughts”

  1. Jake Says:

    You guys do have a good team. I won’t make excuses, but my upcoming trip to San Antonio really affected my draft.

    MSU Mavericks play for the title on ESPN2 on Friday night 7 p.m! My sister is the head coach… It has been an awesome ride…

  2. Kimberlie Hall Says:

    The Hawkeyes are amazing! Josh and I are getting ready to order our season tickets for the 2nd year in a row. I can’t wait for the season to start. We’ll see how the Gophers fair this year.

  3. Jon Says:

    Marty,
    Can we turn this into a Hawkeye blog? Kimberlie, take a look at next year’s home games. You will for sure be buying tickets next year as well.

  4. Kimberlie Hall Says:

    The plan is to buy them as long as I’m living.

  5. Jon Says:

    Marty, Go Hawks!!

  6. martyschmidt Says:

    Alright this post might get deleted.

  7. Klint Says:

    55-0 is really all that needs to be said.


Leave a Reply

