Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Prayer Idea Number 1 April 6, 2009

Filed under: Resources — martyschmidt @ 5:17 pm

I will be offering an idea a day for those of you who are looking for ideas in how to accomplish your prayer commitment.

Idea number one isn’t grand but it I believe it removes one of the biggest barriers to praying.

Go to bed earlier so you can get up earlier

It doesn’t matter if it is one hour or ten minutes. Setting your alarm for an earlier time than usual is daunting if you are rolling into bed around 11:15. But what if you were in bed by 10:00pm. You can joyously set that alarm for 30 minutes less sleep and still get an extra 45 minutes of sleep. I believe the enemy is more able to have his way with us the more tired we are. Part of establishing a healthy prayer life is establishing a healthy life and that means getting enough sleep. Many of us are running on fumes of exhaustion. Go to bed earlier! Part two of this idea is get up earlier. This time is all yours. You get to dictate what happens with it. You can choose to give it to God and spend time talking with Him. My experience is that when I do this he multiplies the hours of my day even though they are the same as everyone else. I can’t explain it but it just seems to work that way. So sometime this week go to bed earlier and get up earlier and use some of that extra time praying. In the words of Bill Hybels title book, you are “too busy not to pray.”

 

3 Responses to “Prayer Idea Number 1”

  1. Abby Says:

    About 7 or 8 years ago, I began to realize that I wasn’t praying much, if at all, during the course of my day, so I started praying between snoozes. I hit the button once and then I have 8-10 minutes (depending on the particular alarm clock I have at the time) of quiet time. They’re not typically heavy prayer times, but it’s a great way to start my day. I also use my bathroom mirror as a prayer request board–I put post-it’s around the edges with things I want to remember to pray for, and then when I’m getting ready in the mornings or any other time I look in the mirror, I am reminded to pray. I have all kinds of pictures around my apartment, and I try to remember whenever I look at a particular picture of someone, some kind of souvenir or anything, I say a short prayer. For instance, this week whenever I look at one of my pictures from my trip to Italy, I try to spend even just a few seconds remembering the people affected by the earthquake in my prayers.

    They’re kind of silly ways to remember to pray, but they’ve actually helped me to remember, which was what I needed. I’ve also been amazed at how much time I actually have spent in prayer at the end of a day when I have made it a point to do the “small” praying. The habit of small prayers has also greatly helped me to have feel comfortable with and to have the focus and the desire to pray for longer periods of time.

  2. J to the C or just Josh is fine Says:

    Hybels’ “you’re too busy not to pray” is good, BUT mc hammer’s “you’ve got to pray – just to make it today” is even better, in my opinion. kidding.

    anyway – – a way that i’ve been able to up the amount of time i spend in prayer has been by doing so during workouts. in particular while running outdoors. its hard to ignore the beauty of His creation during a snowfall or spring sunrise.

    keep living out Acts, Marty/the Bridge! 2 legit, 2 legit to quit…

    😉

  3. Bryan Sissel Says:

    2 times when prayer comes naturally for me is walking and driving i have about 20 min once i hut the highway to get to work.


Leave a Reply

