Martyschmidt’s Weblog

A Joyful Journey

Activate Review May 19, 2008

Filed under: Resources — martyschmidt @ 7:50 pm

In my opinion Nelson Searcy is 3 for 3 in his books. I was super excited to read this book Activate An Entirely New Approach to Small Groups because of the recent success in implementing a number of ideas presented by Searcy in his first two books Launch and Fusion. My hope was to gain some practical and applicable ideas for implementing small groups. That is exactly what I found. Searcy proposes a simple system that can easily be implemented by us at thebridge. Below are some of the key take aways.

  • Shoot for 12-15 in a small group not 5-7
  • Line your small groups up with the natural rhythms of life
  • Use the four F’s to maximize on your small groups
  • Focus – This is all of the ground work to your small groups
  • Form – This is identifying the details of the small groups
  • Fill – This is the sign up portion of small groups
  • Facilitate – This is the on going monitoring of the small groups
  • Most churches fail in small groups because they self compete with other ministries

I’m so pumped about our Fall small groups that I almost want to jump over the entire summer to get them going. If you would like more details on how we will be implementing small groups let me know. If you are looking to create your own process I highly recommend this book.

 

3 Responses to “Activate Review”

  1. Thanks for the shout out to Activate! I’m glad you found the book helpful. We just posted a ton of free stuff related to the book at: http://www.ActivateBook.com

    God bless you and thanks for the post! I’m honored by your kind words…

    Nelson Searcy
    Co-Author: Activate – An Entirely New Approach to Small Groups
    Lead Pastor, The Journey, NYC

    P.S. I’m now blogging at http://www.ChurchLeaderInsights.com/blog

  2. […] P.S. My newest book is just starting to hit the web – the topic: how to secure 100% adult participation in your small groups. It’s already doing great on Amazon (thank you early adopters!).  If you are an early adopter, you can pick up a copy by clicking here. For an early review, check out this blog post by Marty Schmidt. […]

  3. martyschmidt Says:

    Nelson – I think I should be the one thanking you. We have already identified and confirmed several of our small group leaders for the fall. Like I said before – I can’t wait to start implementing these tools.


Leave a comment